zaro

Can I twin a concentration spell?

Published in D&D 5e Spellcasting 4 mins read

Yes, you can generally twin a concentration spell with the Sorcerer's Twinned Spell Metamagic, provided the spell meets the specific criteria for the ability. When you do so, you are still only concentrating on a single instance of the spell, but its effects apply to two targets.

Understanding Twinned Spell and Concentration

The Sorcerer's Twinned Spell Metamagic is a powerful ability that allows you to cast certain spells on an additional target. For a spell to be twinned, it must meet two essential conditions:

  • It must target only one creature. This means spells that target multiple creatures by default (like Scorching Ray targeting multiple creatures with separate attacks, or Magic Missile with multiple darts) or spells that affect an area are not eligible.
  • It must not have a range of 'Self'. Spells that buff only the caster cannot be twinned.

Concentration spells, by their nature, require a caster to maintain focus on them for the duration. A character can only concentrate on one spell at a time. If you cast another spell requiring concentration, the first one ends.

When you twin a concentration spell, you are casting one single spell that now has two distinct targets. You are still only concentrating on that one spell. This means if your concentration is broken (due to taking damage, casting another concentration spell, or being incapacitated), the effects on both targets end simultaneously.

Common Misconceptions and Nuances

While the rules for twinning concentration spells are straightforward in Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition, their interaction has sometimes been a point of discussion or perceived inconsistency among players, especially in digital adaptations of the game. This often stems from a misunderstanding of how a single spell instance can affect multiple targets while still adhering to the fundamental rule of concentrating on only one spell at a time.

For example, some might mistakenly believe that twinning a concentration spell creates two separate instances of the spell, each requiring independent concentration or having separate durations. However, this is not the case. The core rule is that it's one spell effect extended to a second target, maintained by one concentration. If the behavior in a specific game implementation seems "broken," it typically points to a deviation from this nuanced rule rather than an inherent flaw in the D&D 5e design.

Key aspects to remember:

  • One Concentration Slot: Twinning a concentration spell uses only one of your concentration slots, just like casting it normally.
  • Simultaneous End: If your concentration is broken, both instances of the twinned spell end at the same moment.
  • Shared Duration: Both targets benefit from the spell for the same duration, which is dictated by your maintained concentration.

Twin-able vs. Non-Twin-able Concentration Spells

To help clarify, here's a breakdown of common concentration spells and whether they can be twinned:

Criteria for Twinning Twin-able Concentration Spell Examples Non-Twin-able Concentration Spell Examples Reasoning for Non-Twin-able
Targets one creature only Hold Person, Haste, Polymorph, Suggestion, Greater Invisibility Hypnotic Pattern, Web, Darkness, Faerie Fire These spells target an area or inherently affect multiple creatures/objects, not just one specific creature.
Range is not 'Self' (All examples above) Shield of Faith This spell's range is "Self," meaning it only affects the caster.
Not an Area of Effect (AoE) (All examples above) Spirit Guardians, Moonbeam These create an area of effect, not a single-target effect.

Practical Applications and Benefits

Twinning concentration spells is one of the most powerful uses of the Sorcerer's Metamagic. It allows you to double the impact of crucial single-target buffs or debuffs, effectively giving your party a significant advantage. For instance, twinning Haste can empower two allies, while twinning Hold Person can incapacitate two dangerous foes, all while only requiring one concentration slot from you. This efficiency makes a Sorcerer an invaluable asset in a party.