zaro

Do Cantrips Count as Spells?

Published in Dungeons & Dragons Spells 3 mins read

Yes, cantrips absolutely count as spells.

Cantrips are a unique category within the broader definition of spells, specifically designated as 0-level spells. This means that unless a game rule or ability specifies a minimum spell level (such as "when you cast a spell of 1st level or higher"), any effect or interaction that applies to "a spell" will also apply to a cantrip.

Understanding Cantrips as Spells

When a game mechanic or character ability refers to casting "a spell," it encompasses cantrips because they are inherently part of the spellcasting system. Think of them as foundational spells that don't consume spell slots.

Here's a breakdown of why this distinction is important:

  • Spell Slot Usage: Unlike other spells, cantrips do not require the expenditure of a spell slot to be cast. This is their primary mechanical difference from 1st-level spells and higher.
  • Level Designation: Despite not consuming spell slots, they still have a "level"—Level 0. This reinforces their identity as spells.
  • Rule Interpretation: If a feature or condition applies to "spells," it includes cantrips by default. For instance, if an ability grants a bonus "when you cast a spell," that bonus would apply to cantrips as well.

When Cantrips Are Excluded

Game designers often create specific wording to differentiate between cantrips and other spells when an effect is not intended to apply to all spells. This usually involves specifying a minimum spell level.

Consider these examples:

  • "When you cast a spell of 1st level or higher..." This phrasing explicitly excludes 0-level spells (cantrips). Such an ability would only trigger or apply its effects when you cast a spell that consumes a spell slot of 1st level or greater.
  • "For each spell slot you expend..." This type of wording also implicitly excludes cantrips, as they do not consume spell slots.
  • "You regain a spell slot after casting a spell." If this were a rule, it wouldn't apply to casting a cantrip because cantrips don't use spell slots in the first place, thus not triggering the "expenditure" condition.

Practical Implications

Understanding that cantrips are spells has several practical implications for players and Dungeon Masters:

  • Feat Interactions: Many feats that boost spellcasting (e.g., War Caster for advantage on concentration saves) apply to cantrips if the conditions are met.
  • Class Features: Features that augment "spells" in general, like a cleric's Potent Spellcasting adding ability modifier to damage for cleric cantrips, reinforce their spell status.
  • Magic Items: If a magic item affects "spells" generally, it affects cantrips too, unless explicitly stated otherwise.
  • Counterspell/Dispel Magic: While cantrips don't use spell slots, they can still be the target of effects like Counterspell or Dispel Magic if those effects target "a spell" (though Dispel Magic often targets ongoing magical effects, not the initial casting of a cantrip which resolves instantly).

In summary, a cantrip is a type of spell, specifically a level 0 spell. Any game rule or ability that refers to "a spell" will include cantrips unless it explicitly states a minimum spell level or a requirement for expending a spell slot.